Governing Body and Advisory Board

Governing Body

The “House of the Wannsee Conference” Memorial and Education Site was established by a decision of the Berlin Senate (Document 12/236) because at that time there was not yet a central memorial site dedicated to the victims of the holocaust.
The memorial site is financed by “Erinnern für die Zukunft - Trägerverein des Hauses der Wannsee-Konferenz e.V” (Remembering for the Future – Governing Body of the House of the Wannsee Conference Association), a non-profit organisation with funding from the Federal State of Berlin and the Federal Republic of Germany.
The stated aim of Remembering for the Future - Governing Body of the House of the Wannsee Conference Association (registered with the Berlin District Court, reg. no. VR 10493 Nz), established in 1990, is to promote:

  • remembrance of the victims of the National Socialist policy of genocide,
  • the provision of information on the National Socialist crimes,
  • education in democracy and the defence of human rights.

In pursuit of these aims, the association maintains the villa at Am Grossen Wannsee 56-58 (the House of the Wannsee Conference) as a memorial and education site, holding a permanent exhibition and political education events.”
(Paragraph 2 of its constitution). The association is made up of the general assembly, the council and the advisory board (paragraph 4). The general assembly determines the guidelines for the work of the House of the Wannsee Conference.

According to the last notice of exemption issued by the Berlin Tax Office for Corporate Bodies I on 15.06.2011, the Governing Body of the Memorial and Education Site House of the Wannsee Conference was officially recognised as particularly worthy of financial support for its promotion of education and international understanding, and thus recognised as a charity for the years 2008, 2009 and 2010.

Members of the Governing Body:

  • the Federal Republic of Germany, represented by Federal Government Commissioner for Culture and the Media, represented by Mrs Sabine Deres
  • Berlin, represented by the Governing Mayor, represented by Mr. Helge Rehders
  • the Central Council of Jews in Germany, represented by Mr. Mark Dainow
  • the Jewish Community of Berlin, represented by the Chairman Dr Gideon Joffé
  • the Archdiocese of Berlin on behalf of the German Bishops' Conference, represented by Mr. Gregor Engelbreth
  • the Protestant Church Berlin-Brandenburg - schlesische Oberlausitz, represented by Mr. Martin Vogel
  • the German Historical Museum, represented by Dr. Arnulf Scriba
  • the Documentation and Cultural Centre of German Sinti and Roma, represented by Mr. André Raatzsch
  • the German Institute for Human Rights, represented by Prof. Dr. Beate Rudolf
  • the International Auschwitz Komitee, represented by Christoph Heubner.

Chair of the Governing Body:

Helge Rehders, Senatskanzlei - Kulturelle Angelegenheiten, Land Berlin

Advisory Board

The international academic Advisory Board provides expert advice to support and guide the work of the Association and the Memorial and Educational Site. The Advisory Board is made up of a maximum of fifteen individuals. They are elected for three years. Re-election is permitted. The members of the advisory board elect a chair and deputy chair from among themselves.

Advisory Board members:

  • Prof. Dr. Frank Bajohr, Leibniz Institute for Contemporary History, Munich
  • Deidre Berger, American Jewish Committee, Berlin
  • Prof. Dr. Detlef Garbe, Neuengamme Concentration Camp Memorial
  • Lamya Kaddor, Liberal-Islamischer Bund e.V.
  • Cilly Kugelmann, Jewish Museum Berlin
  • Prof. Dr. Günter Morsch, Brandenburg Memorials Foundation, Oranienburg
  • Dr. Guy Miron, Schechter Institute of Jewish Studies, Jerusalem
  • Karen Polak, Anne Frank Stichting, Amsterdam
  • Prof. Dr. Mark Roseman, Indiana University, Bloomington
  • Dr. Christa Schikorra, Flossenbürg Concentration Camp Memorial
  • Dr. Estela Schindel, European University Viadrina, Frankfurt (Oder)
  • Prof. Dr. Stefanie Schüler-Springorum, Centre for Research on Antisemitism, TU Berlin
  • Dr. Marian Turski, Warsaw
  • Dr. Annette Weinke, Friedrich Schiller University Jena
  • Prof. Dr. Michael Wildt, Humboldt University Berlin

Advisory Board Chair:

Prof. Dr. Michael Wildt, Humboldt University Berlin

Update 14.11.2019