Rethinking the "Final Solution" and the Wannsee Conference 80 Years Later

  • Datum:

The Ghetto Fighters' House Talking Memory Series presents

 

Sunday, January 16th, 2022

2:00 PM East Coast | 7:00 PM GMT | 9:00 PM SAST | 9:00 PM Israel

"The Wannsee Conference: 90 Minutes of Bureaucratic Evil"

 

Opening Remarks:

Dr. Thamir Hod - Historian at the Ghetto Fighters' House, and Expert on World War II and the Holocaust

 

Guest speaker:

Dr. Matthias Hass - Academic Department of the House of the Wannsee Conference Memorial Site an Educational Center

The Wannsee Conference Now and Then

 

The first program in this four part series will mark the 80th anniversary of the Wannsee Conference that took place on January 20th, 1942.  In his opening remarks, Dr. Tamir Hod will present a synopsis of the crucial meeting that would decide the fate of millions of Jews in Europe. He will also disclose archival material related to the subject that was discovered after the fall of the Soviet Block.  In his presentation "The Wannsee Conference Now and Then", Dr. Matthias Hass, scientific advisor at the House of the Wannsee Conference Memorial Site who oversees their education programs, will discuss the activities of the memorial and how thehistory ofthe pivotal meeting that sealed the implementation of the "Final Solution" is told to visitors. As well, Hass will present the ongoing research about the Wannsee Conference and how it has helped to further understand the "Final Solution to the Jewish Problem."  

This program is in partnership with Liberation 75, Remember the Women Institute, the Rabin Chair Forum, the House of the Wannsee Conference Memorial and Educational Site, and the Johannesburg Holocaust and Genocide Center.

 

Registration Link:

https://us02web.zoom.us/meeting/register/tZcvduivqTMtGdTRNqOwKx3ewweivholt38U